top of page
Search
  • eldertorreslds

Back to the Capital! (Week 82)


Hey everyone!

I've been here in Sorocaba since October and now I'm heading back to the capital! We received the transfer on Saturday and I'll be going to Franco da Rocha to be with Elder Müller. All I know about him so far is that he's american and that Elder Yegros - my mission dad - trained him. So technically I'm gonna be comps with my brother! :D

This week Wilson received his children from Alagoas after a 3 day bus ride and they were all incredibly tired. Sadly, he had to work on Sunday but I'm sure they will all soon be baptised by Elder Braga and his new companion!

This week we had the much awaited baptism of Maria Lúcia, Gustavo's mother. She works with cleaning and usually works three Sundays and then has 6 Sundays off. The company she works for recently fired lots of people and she had to work more than usual. Despite the long delay of her baptism, she told us that everyday she was praying to God asking Him to bless her baptism and reading the Book of Mormon. It was incredible to see her over the last few weeks acquire a happier glow due to her seeking earnestly the scriptures. Her baptism was a delight and she was smiling all the way throughout. Gustavo was by her side and has a bright future ahead with his mother in the gospel. :)

Last week, a young woman called Kimberly took a couple of friends to church. One of them was Rebeka who is 14 years old. We went to her house this week and were able to teach her with her dad. Her dad and stepmother demonstrated from the beginning that they were not interested but fully supported their daughter in her decision to be baptised. She read the Book of Mormon. She told us: "Well, in the Book of Mormon it told me to read and ask God and that the spirit would give me the answer. I read, prayed and got a very good and happy feeling. I think that's my answer!" She was baptised and her friend Kimberly was there by her side. They will be a strength to each other and they grow up in spirit and in years!

On Sunday after church, I went to say goodbye to some recent-converts in the area. We went to Wdson's house, one of our first baptisms here. We found out that his 18 year old sister had moved there 2 weeks ago so we took the opportunity to teach her. In the missionary lessons we usually take one part each and alternate. When Elder Braga passed me the lesson, I felt prompted to let Wdson teach. He taught Christ's earthly ministry and His Church, about the apostasy and the first vision. He told his sister Jessica how the priesthood was restored to Joseph Smith and the true church is back on the earth today. I was in awe to see this recent convert teach with knowledge and maturity that many older members took many years to acquire. Needless to say, she accepted our invitation to be baptised. I'll miss him and Eduardo!

Well, it's time to bid adieu to Jardim São Paulo and Sorocaba. What amazing time I have spent here. I'll miss the people, the members and the recent-converts. Oh and of course, my comp and buddie Elder Braga. #TheBurgerKings


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page