top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

Another Family in God's Fold (Week 95)


Hey family!

It seems that the closer I get to finishing my mission the better its getting! This Tuesday we had the opportunity to go to the temple with President and Sister Farnes. I think I learnt more in the temple than I had ever learned before. How I am grateful for the restored gospel and the Lord's temples where we can learn more about the plan of happiness God has made for each of us and make sacred covenants with Him. It was also great to be there with Elder Esteves and other friends such as Elder Pereira who I was companions with in the office.

It was sad when I realised it would be the last time I spoke with President and Sister Farnes (in the mission that is). We spoke in the temple and outside, he thanked me for all I had done and I thanked them. I am grateful to have met such amazing people who have influenced me in such a positive way. They have taught about the Atonement with a lot of zeal these last 3 years and because of them, my own testimony of Jesus Christ's sacrifice has taken root and is firmer than ever. I am thankful for the love they have demonstrated me throughout my mission, whether it was praising my work or calling me to repentance and to do more! I am sure we will be very involved in each other's lives after the mission. Thank you Farnes family for everything!

I told you a little about Ednaura's last week. This last week they went from strength to strength and became firmer in the gospel and in their desire to be baptised. There was a day when I accidentally took their Book of Mormon. The next day Ednaura said: "Did you guys take my Book of Mormon? I was screaming at everyone asking who took it because I wanted to read it." I hadn't realised how important it had become to her, a real anchor in her testimony. On Saturday, it was Nadia's 13th birthday and I truly felt at home! The cake was ginormous and it disappeared in about 10 minutes!

From left to right: Rayra (11), Kenia (14), Kymberlly (8), Nadia (13) and Ednaura

On Saturday we also met Matheus (8), another one of Ednaura's grandchildren who wanted to be baptised with his cousins very much. So, we taught him everything and he learned everything incredibly fast! Ednaura told us that he wasn't sleeping at the thought that perhaps he wouldn't be baptised with his family! They are all incredibly united.

On Sunday was the grand day! The family arrived in 4 cars and early too. They took up over 2 pews in the sacrament meeting right at the front. They paid very close attention to the speakers and sung enthusiastically the hymns, at least the older ones who could read already! One of the speakers gave an amazing talk. She spoke to us about those who will rise in the FIRST Resurrection and 5 priorities which we must have if we are to be one of them.

1. God must be the FIRST person you speak with everyday!

2. The scriptures must be the FIRST thing you read everyday.

3. The FIRST 10% of all we receive belongs to God (tithing)

4. We must keep holy the Sunday, the FIRST day of the week

5. We must put others FIRST

It was a simple yet powerful talk! After all the lessons, we organised the baptismal clothes and they all got changed. The room we held the meeting in was the fullest I had ever seen, partly because the family was so big but also because a lot of members had stayed.

The baptisms were going well, right until the last one. Ryan (8) has a very big fear of water and began crying, almost hysterically when he went to the door of the baptismal font. The practice I had with my little siblings came in very useful at this moment. I held his hands and went down to his level and spoke about the baptism. He was still crying and by this moment there was a lot of people trying to help, some telling him to get out and some encouraging him to get baptised. I told him that he could be baptised next week, there was no problem. But every time he went out of the font he would come back down into the water, crying but saying he wanted to be baptised. Then I thought of doing a prayer. Inside the water, we both closed our eyes and I asked God to give this little boy courage. A few attempts later, he calmed down and was baptised. Afterwards, he came and hugged me and said: "You are my hero. I love you guys!" I learned with little Ryan that we must always do what's right and always put faith over fear.

This family is incredible and makes me feel like I am home already. So many kids, so much noise, so much food and over everything, SO MUCH LOVE!

Have an amazing week with amazing people,

Elder Torres


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page