top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

Referral from Heaven (Week 89)


Hey everyone!

Another fun week with Elder Esteves has passed and it weird how fast the time if going now in this home stretch. I want to make the time slow down a bit so I can accomplish all I want before leaving! It's kind of scary but also exciting. Bittersweet would be a good word. But as I said last week... FOCUS ON THE NOW! :D

On Monday we had a family home evening with some youth, including Gabriel and a couple of non-members also. We passed the "Ask of God: Joseph Smith's First Vision" video and gave a brief explanation of the video. It's simple and powerful. After Monday we were unable to meet up with Gabriel as he is travelling in another city. I still believe he will receive his answer, he has massive potential!

This week we went to visit a family that had recently moved to the ward. We were fasting that day and had eaten a cake before starting our fast but for some reason, we decided to buy two. When we got to this family, there were some non-member family members there including little Ana Rita. They told us it was her birthday and I instantly remembered the cake we hadn't eaten. When we got it out they told us she hadn't had a birthday cake yet. The joy on Ana Rita's face as we sang happy birthday and as she blew the spaghetti candle was priceless. I'm sure she will remember that for years to come. :)

Let me tell you about a wonderful member in our ward! His name is Edmar and he has been a member for around 4 years. He lives right in front of our house and has had a small market for 10 years. Ever since he was baptised, he gives the elders free bread every morning and does so joyfully. When he get there in the mornings, we often find him reading his scriptures or sharing his testimony with one of his many repeat customers. He has a constant want for wisdom and a deep testimony rooted in the sacrifice of Jesus Christ. If you let him, he'll speak to you about the gospel the whole day! What an incredible member and person he is. Meeting people like him gives me inspiration to be a better missionary and member when I return home.

On Wednesday we received a phone call from a member in Interlagos. She told us there was a work colleague that for sure would be baptised if we went over and taught him. We called him that same morning and he answered super cheerfully and marked our visit. On Saturday we walked to his house, it was a bit of a walk! When he got to number 66 on Rua Tiradentes, it was an evangelical church. For a split second I thought about not knocking with the fear it would be a pastor trying to "bible bash". When we knocked though, Tiago (30 years old) ran down with a huge smile and greeted us. He told us the church wasn't his but his parents rented the garage for the church. He offered us juice, cake, fruit and said he was just trying to make us feel welcome. We got talking about the church before the actual lesson and he said that he had been reading the Church Presidents' manuals, had downloaded Gospel Library on his tablet and had watched most of the Mormon Messages and also the Joseph Smith films. My jaw figuratively dropped! Then we started teaching the Restoration and he already knew everything. The spirit guided me as to what I should say to finish the lesson. "I feel we didn't come here so much to teach you but rather to extend an invitation to you. Do you accept being baptised on the 21st of May?" "I do, yes!" That was all he was waiting for! He loved church and the organisation of everything. Please pray for this elect man! :)

On Sunday, we had wonderful meetings and the Bishop gave a wonderful talk about communication in the home and made everyone see the importance of turning off the TV and tuning in to a conversation with a spouse, child or parent. I was glad to recognize that many of the advice he gave were already being practiced in our own family. I love being a Torres! Speaking of my family, it was awesome speaking to everyone in my last Skype session! In the middle of the whole Torres-style confusion and rush, the best moment by far was when we did our family prayer together. With my eyes closed and my arms crossed in front of a laptop almost 6000 miles from home, I felt like I was there with them in Ipswich. Love you guys!

Have a wonderful week everyone, miss you and love you!

Elder Torres


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page