top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

Elder Esteves (Week 88)


Hello family,

As I suspected, I am training Elder Esteves. The transfer meeting on Tuesday was very fun! When they announced I would be training Elder Esteves, he almost knocked me out when he ran over to hug me. He is very mature and has a massive desire and fire to work and baptise everyone here in Franco da Rocha. He often asks how to improve and feedback on his teaching. For less than a week on the field, he is doing very very well!

In the car on the way to Franco da Rocha.

Pizza to celebrate!

Gabriel who I told you about last week is an incredible young man! We met with him throughout the week and he grew in his testimony of the restored gospel and his desire to be baptised also grew. He was interviewed for his baptism and passed, everything seemed to be perfect! On Sunday morning he turned up to church but told me he wouldn't be baptised. I was sad and confused. He then told me he was researching more about the church on the internet and came across some anti-Mormon material. Me and another returned missionary sat with him for a while, answering questions and removing doubts. However, he still felt unsure and decided not to be baptised. I have no doubt that the enemy is trying to obstruct Gabriel's baptism because he knows the good he will do inside the church and as a missionary. We won't give up!

On Thursday we had our interviews with President Farnes and as he is heading back to the States and ending his mission in June, it was our last interview. We talked for a long time, about school, family, my companions. When I asked him if it was our last interview he said: "I don't like lasts, I like to think of this of one of our many conversations that we had and will still have." He gave me helpful advice like:

1 - Focus on the NOW.

Being companions with my friend has its pros and cons. In the first few days I found myself asking a lot of questions about the ward and how things were back home but I soon realized it was getting in the way of my full focus. Whenever we start a conversation about home I will say out loud: "Focus on the now". It's been a helpful reminder that I will take until the end of the mission and onward. 2 - Deeper Roots.

President told me that I have changed during my mission but not in an obvious way like gaining a testimony or being converted. Rather, he said that my roots have grown deeper in the gospel and in Jesus Christ. Elder Esteves told me I hadn't changed that much and after the interview I understood why. I have gone through an internal change, a change of heart. My roots have grown deeper and the storms of life will have less power against me. Realising this has made my desire to use that deeper testimony I have acquired more in the lessons. We sometimes get into the routine of teaching and saying certain things but just the easy fact of remembering my testimony as I teach makes the Spirit more present to me. Seek to have a daily change of heart rather than changing your behaviour for others to see. 3 - Be Flexible to what Life (God) will Put in Your Path.

As I told him about my "after-mission" plans, President warned me to not get too stuck in my plans. He said I should be flexible as our will is not always God's will. This was very useful life advice but I also took it for the mission. We get so focused on a focus area that we may not see that most references are coming from the other side of the area. Or we have taught a certain way for so long that we are not flexible to suggestions. I have been trying to learn from my companion as much as possible and teaching him that there is no set way of doing contacts or teaching lessons. The Spirit will guide and put the words in our mouths.

I will miss this wise man but I'm sure we will still be very present in each others lives after the mission!

On Sunday night we went to the house of Milton and Fátima. Milton came to church last week so we went to teach them. Fátima was very kind and gave us "baião de dois", a northern Brazilian food. Then we began to teach or rather, we began to be taught. Fátima has been evangelical for a long time and began relating experiences with her and God. I sometimes am a bit skeptic about experiences like the ones she shared but after a few minutes, I was left in awe at this woman's faith. She said: "I have served for governors, mayors and other political leaders but now, I serve God. I will talk about His love until I die and no one can stop me!" Her faith touched me and taught me in that moment. I was reminded once again by the amazing talk by Elder Nelson in this last conference: "When you reach up for the Lord’s power in your life with the same intensity that a drowning person has when grasping and gasping for air, power from Jesus Christ will be yours. When the Savior knows you truly want to reach up to Him—when He can feel that the greatest desire of your heart is to draw His power into your life—you will be led by the Holy Ghost to know exactly what you should do."

She said that her dream, and she had been praying to God for this to happen, was to hold a church meeting in her house. She said we were angels of God sent to them and very excitedly accepted when we offered to go there next Saturday and hold a family home evening with lots of families from the same apartment complex. What amazing faith in an unexpected place!

I received my scripture case a couple of weeks ago, I LOVE IT!

Love, Elder Torres


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page