top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

Comforting Those in Need (Week 86)


Hi everyone!

This week was a little slow but as always there were a couple of memorable moments. On Thursday I went on division with Elder Torres (it was fun presenting ourselves) and I got to work in their area. He is new in the mission but he is very proactive and excited about the work. He told me: "There is a woman who we contacted in the street a couple of weeks ago. I feel like we should go there but it's a bit far away from the focus area." I simply told him to follow the prompting and off we went. We knocked several times and Lucimara finally answered. She had been taught by the missionaries before and had also gone to church. We were amazed by her readiness to go to church and be baptised as we extended those invites. It was a testimony builder for Elder Torres (Torrinho) who is beginning his mission and a reminder for me to always be tuned to the spirit.

As me and Elder Miller knocked a certain street, we met Paula and Rhael, daughter and son. As we got talking and teaching, she told us that she was suffering from depression for over a year now. We read some scriptures and bore testimony of the Atonement of Jesus Christ and how true peace will come as she seeks professional aid and most of all, the eternal aid of our Lord and Saviour. She and her son didn't go to church but we left there that day knowing we made a difference in somebody's life.

A few doors later we found Fabio. He came out and I complimented him on his cool rock and roll hair which made him very happy. We talked a little about the Book of Mormon and then he invited us in. Much like the other family, as we began teaching and bearing testimony he opened up to us and confessed that alcoholism was ruining his life. He said that by himself he wasn't being able to free himself from that addiction. We expressed our desire to help him and he gladly accepted our help and invite to go to church and read the Book of Mormon. Perhaps it'll take a little while for him to be baptised but he said: "Today you made a big difference in my life. Thank you."

Although we do not always get the success we want in the way we prefer it, I was reminded this week that Jesus Christ often extended His hands in simple acts of service and most of the time not receiving glory or praise for His charity. I know my Saviour lives and He loves me.

Next week the blog will be better!

Love you all,

Elder Torres


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page