top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

For Time and All Eternity (Week 84)


At times during my mission, I have felt that perhaps I wasn't doing enough or making a difference. I suspect many missionaries have felt that way at one point or another throughout their mission. We work day in day out and at times do not see immediately the fruits of our labours. This week, I was able to see a seed that I planted a year ago, flourished and firm on gospel sod.

Approximately one year ago, we met Conrado and Vanessa (to be precise, it was on Week 29, in case you want to refresh your memory). Conrado was willing to follow Jesus Christ and accepted our invitation to be baptised without hesitation. Soon, me and my companion were witnesses in their civil wedding and also saw him receive the priesthood and begin to exercise it by passing the sacrament. I was transferred and did not see them again. A few weeks ago I got an email from Vanessa inviting me to go to their sealing. Yesterday was their day!

Elder Yegros, Elder Alves and I (they had a sealing of their recent-convert also) arrived to the São Paulo Temple early and were able to teach some investigators who appeared in the temple. As they sat in the waiting room and we spoke with them the spirit was very strong. It's sad they don't belong to our mission but hopefully the missionaries will do a good job. When the other elders' recent converts arrived, I was able to watch their sealing. I felt like I was intruding because I didn't know anyone but it was very happy moment. The sealer shared the following scripture in Alma 13:30 which says: "Therefore there was a law given them, yea, a law of performances and of ordinances, a law which they were to observe strictly from day to day, to keep them in remembrance of God and their duty towards him." I reflected a lot on this scripture and was reminded that daily we should remember the ordinances we made at baptism and in the temple.

After a couple of hours, Conrado and Vanessa arrived for their sealing. Conrado had just gone through the temple for the first time and he gave me a big bear hug. Vanessa picked me to be one of the witnesses for their sealing. What an honour to be the witness of something eternal! As they kneeled across the altar they looking unflinchingly into each others eyes with a love that was incomparable. Then Vanessa's two kids Lucca and Elli (from her previous relationship) came into the room and kneeled with their parents. I felt a joy that I imagine is similar to what we will feel in the Celestial Kingdom with our families. They hugged each other and the kids hugged their new dad. What a beautiful family, even more so dressed in white inside the temple! Seeing this sealing was a proof to myself that although I am weak and often fall short of God's expectations, I was able to help an eternal family be formed.

To my surprise, as I came out of the temple I saw Sergio from Jardim Modelo (see Week 59). He had just come out of the temple from doing baptisms and was radiating with light and joy. We don't have much contact with our recent converts so we are left to wonder if they remained firm. What a pleasant surprise it was to see him in the temple, firm in the church and entering the House of the Lord!

To top everything off, this week we had Josefa's baptism on Sunday. As we walked to church disappointed that all our investigators fell through, we saw Josefa turning the corner and walking by herself to church. It's probably 100 metres but at her advanced age it's a considerable effort. In Gospel Principles class, in the middle of telling one of her stories she bore her testimony and said she was loving the church. After her baptism, she said: "Estou muito feliz!" She was glowing and the spirit was very present. We asked one of Elder Miller's recent converts to baptise her so he received the priesthood on Sunday and baptised her after the meetings. What a blessing!

Today on p-day we went on a beautiful trail with a convert of the other missionaries here in Franco. We walked and talked for a good time and got to the top of the trail. I thought I was looking at a British countryside. The rolling hills and the fresh air took me home for a bit! :)

I MISS YOU AND LOVE YOU ALL!

Elder Torres


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page