top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

➶ Hunting on Division! ➶(Week 73)


This week we worked a lot, laughed a lot and met lots of people. I'm enjoying this area although the neighbourhood we were working in, Novo Mundo, has been very overworked over the last years! Everyone knows the missionaries and don't want anything to do with them.

On Tuesday I did a division with Salto de Pirapora. This area has been having serious problems in the past couple of months with the work and also with a couple of *clears throat* missionaries that didn't do much. I was with Elder Barbosa who already passed in the same zone as me before. On this division we took Jeremiah 16:16 quite literally and were "hunting" high and low, looking for elect youth and people. We actually felt like hunters, at one point we were inviting kinds who were up in the trees picking mangoes. :D haha. As always, a great division was topped off with a humongous (16 slice, to be precise) pizza! Am I getting fat?

This week we taught a lot of people and lots of people committed to go to church with us on Sunday. On Saturday night we were very confident we would take at least 6 new people to church. Sunday morning arrives and door after door we were met with disappointment. One group of 5 men who live together because of work, were got so drunk the night before they complained like little girls when we opened the bedroom door to let the sunlight in. *sigh* Then a few other people had left earlier that morning for some reason. A bit annoying. There was a good part though. We went to get Reginaldo, a man who has been living in Sorocaba for a few months due to work. He didn't want to come to church as the woman who cleans their clothes didn't have time to wash his church trousers. He was embarrassed to come in football shorts and a tank top. So in quick missionary thinking, I told him we would lend him some clothes and he was like: "alright". :D We passed by the house, I let him use my shirt and my shoes and off to church we went. He loved it and the members did a great job making him feel included. Pray for him please!

I have been reading "The Infinite Atonement" this week and it is an INCREDIBLE book! Callister speaks about the Atonement with such clarity and profoundness at the same time. It is helping me to more fully appreciate the love He showed for me. Everyone should read this book!

Just to fill the space I'm gonna include some pictures!

Brazilians love WhatsApp but really struggle spelling it! haha

A cool bug we found on the tree, look at its antennae! :D

A couple of road signs I found that reminded me of papito!

Love you all! 6 months to go!

Elder Torres


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page