top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

Preaching on the Train (Week 54)


Hello everyone!! :D

This week fleeeew by! I have a new companion called Elder S. Lima. He's from Maceió, Alagoas, Brasil and he's 26 year's old. :) This week has been a breeze, we've worked well and gotten along great! We haven't taken many pictures but here's one of us in his birthfay lunch with President Zanforlin (second councilor of the São Paulo North mission) and his wife, who belong to our area. :)

This week we had the mission's Leadership Council. It was another uplifting spiritual experience which inspired me and my companion to do more and elevate and inspire the missionaries in our zone. In the meeting, a few missionaries shared experiences of doing a missionary contact for the whole bus or train. Then, the assistants challenged us all to do just that as we travelled back to our areas. On the train back, there were 2 other zone leaders and one of them came up to us and said: "Are you ready to preach?" He then turned to the people sitting on the train and said: "Hello, my name is Elder Ebert and this is my companion Elder Mafi and our friends *looks and points to us* have a great message to share with you!" Funny thing was, I didn't feel nervous at all. We just stood up and began sharing the message of the restoration. At first everyone on the carriage looked but by the end only 3 or so people were looking. It was a very unique missionary experience and although I didn't capture the moment on camera, it felt a bit like Dan Janes preaching to the people in Wales. :)

When we were teaching Ricardo, who was baptised last week, he got out from his drawer an old picture of him and his ex-wife and children. I looked at the pictures for a few minutes and the spirit was overwhelming. Here in front of me was a man who had been captured my depression and anxiety, causing him to lose his wife and close contact with his children. When I looked at the pictures I imagines Ricardo back in Heavenly Father's care, with full mental and emotional health, joyful and complete with his family and loved ones. It was a glimpse of the desire that God has for His children: "To bring to pass the imortality and eternal life of man."

My time's run out because I'm rubbish with managing my email time but expect many miracles on next week's blog. I am loving Brasil and its people, missionary work is a small sacrifice that is bringing me and many others the blessing of having a closer relationship with God and full access to the Atonement of Jesus Christ.

Love you all and miss you all!

Elder Torres

PS: Brother Cezar is one of my favourite members here in this ward! he also suffered depression and is the one who brought Ricardo to church. He is awesome!! :)


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page