top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

Tender Mercies (Week 16)


Minha querida família! Dear friends!

I have truly gotten to know that the Lord is a merciful and just God during my short time here on the mission. I read a scripture in Mosiah 21:15 that really made me reflect on my missionary efforts. As part of our human nature, we will always fall short of God's standard for entry into His kingdom. Only through Jesus' Atonement and great sacrifice for us are we able to be forgiven and move forward. Despite our imperfections, the Lord has always extended his hand to bless us with the righteous desires of our hearts. However, he is as merciful as he is just and these blessings will come as we are obedient to his commandments and diligent in the work, always enduring to the end.

Last week we took a boy to church whose name is Vinicius. He was very calm and reverent and reminded me of my brother Jared (at times, haha). We taught him all the lessons and he learnt quickly. Soon he had a desire to be baptised and when we went to speak to his granddad who takes care of him to ask his permission we had a wonderful experience. When we first talked about baptism he asked us: "Isn't it a bit quick?" We proceeded to explain to him that Vinicius had gone to church already and had been taught all he needed to know and as I thought of what else to say to calm his apparent worry, he said: "As I am the responsible for Vinicius I will authorise his baptism. It is a good step that will set him on the right path and protect him." We were taken aback by this man's faithfulness and understanding of the importance of baptism. Yesterday we had a very spiritual and uplifting baptism, Vini's granddad and aunt were there and lots of members came to support him. One of our recent converts Antony gave a simple yet powerful and edifying closing prayer, a moment I will cherish.

I truly know it was the Lord who made this miracle possible and I am excited for this week and the opportunity that I have to work in the Lord's vineyard once again.

We also had the blessing to see three of our recent converts - Lais, Amanda and Andressa - participate in Young Women in Excellence (I believe that's the name of it there). They looked happy and radiant, the light of Christ was brighter in their eyes and smiles. What a blessing to help daughters of God be protected from the world and enter into His fold!

I love you all and I love our Saviour Jesus Christ!

Big hugs,

Elder Torres

PS: As if my sister Lara is getting married this week. CONGRATS!!! Save some cake for me pretty please. ;) Love you Lara and Matthew, have a wonderful day and life together!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page