top of page
Search
  • Elder Diego Torres

Faithful Boys, Future Missionaries (Week 14)


Hello everyone!

As always, I'm writing this blog with little time left so forgive me if it's rushed or there are lots of spelling mistakes and what not but this week was INCREDIBLE! :D

As I left off last week, the baptism of Ryan, Erick and Antony was Wednesday! When we confirmed with the mother the day and hour we told the boys and they quite literally leaped with joy. On Wednesday we went to their house and picked them up as well as their mum, Selma. She had gone to church yet but wanted to be present for the baptism. On the way there the boys were super excited and the mother asked me lots of questions about missionary work and the church in general. She was really interested and we had a good conversation. When we got to the chapel, the Deacons' Quorum President Luan, who was baptised about a year ago, was waiting for us and greeted the boys with a big smile. We took lots of photos and chatted for a bit before the members arrived. While we waited, Elder Yegros gave Selma a tour of the chapel and the spirit was very strong. She has a strong desire to come with her children but is now working nights and can't make it Sunday mornings.

We gave each boy a Book of Mormon and as soon as they got them they went outside and started reading them. They had been asking for them for days and when they got it, it was like Christmas. This photo is legit and not posed, although I did ask them to hold the books a bit higher. ;)

On our way back from the baptism the boys said the following things:

Ryan (13): "I'm calm on the outside but on the inside there's a party going on!"

Erick (11): "I feel light!"

Antony (10): "I feel like I'm floating. I'm happy! :D "

Apart from that miracle on Wednesday, this week we were much more proactive and found lots of families and marked plenty of baptismal dates. On Sunday morning, we left the house early and in somewhat of a church expedition we managed to take 15 people to church all walking. It was a bit like the game "Snake" where you pick up more and more and have to turn in all sorts of directions. The expressions of everyone in sacrament meeting were priceless when they saw one by one all our investigators entering the chapel. We made sure Bishop Arias met and shook hands with each one. :)

With every day that passes my testimony of the Lord Jesus Christ and his Atonement grows. I know that regardless of how many times we may fall and falter, He is there with His hand extended to pick us up and help us carry on. It is never too late to start again and to recommit ourselves to be a better disciple of Christ. I have done it several times already in the short time I have been in the mission field. I know that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is the only true church on the face of the earth and he only one with the authority and priesthood to perform those sacred saving ordinances such as baptism. I know that this power was restored through Joseph Smith and that he translated the Book of Mormon, the most correct book on earth.

I love you all and hope you are strong and steadfast in the gospel!

Big hugs,

Elder Torres

PS: Here is a picture from Gabriel's baptism. It was about a month ago but I had lost the pictures. Gabriel is on the right and his friend Aaron who is on the left baptised him. Enjoy!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page